ALHD Board & Management

Meet Our Board

ALHD’s Board consists of nine elected Board members including a Chairman. They are all senior members of Lions Clubs from around Australia. Each term is three years, and Board members can stand for re-election and continue to serve indefinitely. The Chairman’s position however is limited to 2 consecutive terms. Board meetings are held bi-monthly with additional meetings of the Board Executive.

In each of Australia’s 19 Lions Club Districts, a Lions member is appointed to the role of District Chairman for Australian Lions Hearing Dogs. It is the responsibility of this person to represent ALHD throughout their district in an Ambassadorial function, speaking at events and advocating for ALHD both internally through their Lions zone and externally in the broader community. District Chairs play very important roles as the appointed eyes and ears of ALHD all around Australia.

Australian Lions Hearing Dogs

Board Chairmen Since foundation

PDG Brian Carter (1982 – 1986)

PDG Doug Omond OAM (1986 – 1992)

PDG Bill Holmes OAM (1992 – 1998)

PDG Tony Versace OAM (1998 – 2004)

PDG Peter Sparnon (2004 – 2010)

PDG Peter Harrison OAM (2010 – 2016)

PDG Rhys Roberts OAM (2016 – present)

Australian Lions Hearing Dogs

Senior Management/CEOs Since Foundation

Gale Gold (1980 – 1983)

Pam Keen (1983 – 1992)

Lion Bryan Nolte (1992 – 1999)

PDG Graham Smithers (1999 – 2000)

Lion Graham Gemmell  (2000 – 2001)

PDG Bill Holmes OAM (2001 – 2016)

Lion David Horne (2016 – present)